Social media or how twitter helped me start redefining my practice

I met my partner and father of my 3 children in the old-fashioned way – at a nightclub…

So when I sent @social_archi at DM on twitter asking if she wanted to meet for a coffee I was out of my comfort zone.  Up until then all my networks were ones I had met in person – through chance, my own contacts or contacts of contacts.

I was not a doubting gen x,  I just did not see the benefit in tweeting about the mundanities of everyday life… Clearly I did not yet understand how powerful a networking tool the various social medium could be.

I had been following @social_archi and @architours_melb for a while and really loved what they were doing.  Their enthusiasm,  love of our city and desire to share their knowledge about architecture, landscape and urban design with the public really resonated with me at a time I was wanting to do more than just make buildings.

After an awkward ‘first date’, @social_archi and I met again and following that she asked me to join the team.  Melbourne Architours is now one the ways I practice architecture.  I love the research, the conversation / discussion and how being ‘out there’ means I am meeting all kinds of people.

The moral of this story is – you never know where meaningful connections are made.

How has social media worked for you as a professional?

 

Check out www.architours.com.au  to see what we do – (the upcoming National Trust heritage festival tour should be a beauty).  Or follow @architours_melb on Twitter.

And on social media find me on:

Twitter @shelleymfreeman

instagram @shelleymfreeman

LinkedIn – as myself

but I’m not on Facebook or pinterest…yet

2 thoughts on “Social media or how twitter helped me start redefining my practice

  1. Esther Sugihto

    I feel its only fitting to leave a reply on your blog rather than via traditional means like phone! Always a pleasure, and I look forward to reading other methods to redefine archi practice.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: The Folowee’s Dilemma | Andraz Tori Blog

Leave a Reply

